Book Review & Trailer Reveal: Configured

Trailer Reveal

I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced reading copy of this wonderful book and participate in the book tour as it nears its release date.

configuredfinal-coverConfigured
Jenetta Penner
(Book #1 in the Configured Trilogy)
Publication date: October 20th 2016
Genres: Sci-Fi/Dystopian, Young Adult

In the future, love will make you a traitor.

120 years after a virus decimated earth’s population the survivors thrive in safety, away from the death and destruction of the Outerbounds. But there is a price. Divided into three levels of intellect, Citizens focus solely on duty. Emotions are pointless, even dangerous.

Due to her advanced intelligence, seventeen-year-old computer genius, Avlyn Lark is separated from her twin brother at birth and raised by adoptive parents. She gains privilege, the ideal future. He dies. Avlyn barely knew him yet he remains bound to her memory.

But following a string of rebel intrusions on the city, Avlyn receives a cryptic message. After which, she begins seeing visions of her dead twin, not to mention a strange power she doesn’t understand starts to emerge. The mysterious radical who urges Avlyn to join their fight becomes her link to answers. Freedom. Love.

Opportunity calls, but if she says yes will she lose it all?

Configured is the first novel in a Configured trilogy that poses the question: does humanity need love for survival? Fans of Divergent, Matched, and the Maze Runner will love this world of dark secrets, intrigue and thirst for a better tomorrow.

Buy Configured today to read a YA Dystopian/Light Romance that will leave you wanting more!

Buy on Amazon

jenetta-18dcropedsquare2small400Author Bio:

I’m Jenetta and a lifetime lover of Sci-Fi (thx Dad). I had a weird LONG stint (declaring HOW long would give away too many age secrets… and eh hem… a girl never tells) where I read almost no books for pleasure (the horror!). Near the end of 2014 I picked up Hunger Games, and I was off like a rocket.

That next year I read about 40 YA books (mostly Sci-Fi/dystopian) and a couple months into it got the idea to write a book (with no prior experience or even desire) about children who were not allowed to be raised by their biological parents. You see, I am an adoptive mama of two lovely daughters from foster care. That story grew into what Configured is today.

It has been a HUGE journey with a lot of ups and downs and it took WAY longer than I anticipated. But it is finally here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Review

★★★★☆ – 4 out of 5 stars

I usually give a short synopsis of the book but since that’s already done, I’ll jump right into it.

This story starts off as many young adult dystopian novels do – girl coming of age finds herself unique in some way that changes her fate in ways she never expected. I’m not saying this is a bad thing, only that it is a key feature of this genre which can occasionally come off a cheesy (where’s the love story… oh wait. There it is. Yup, 2 guys so which one will she choose). With that said, and what I appreciated most, was the unique aspects of this book. For example (without giving too much away) is the approach taken on what skills the main character possess and her interaction with the world. Its not about her agility and athletic nature that set her apart from others (which I’ve seen often be the case) but her mental abilities (#NerdUnite?). I would be lying if I didn’t also mention that I will forever enjoy and appreciate the strong independence that the main [female] character possesses and that her success is not defined by that of a male. Though, here, the author also makes a point to not ignoring the importance that all relationships have on us, which I also applaud.

img_20161014_133332Why not 5 stars, then? You can read up on how I decide my ratings on my book review policy page but, in short, I don’t necessarily have anything bad to say. 3 stars is for your baseline, average books and 5 stars are for those books that I will hold onto forever and read again and again. Therefore, this book falls somewhere in the middle – it was an enjoyable read and I certainly can’t wait for the 2nd in the series.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys young adult and dystopia genres, as well as those that enjoy books that speak to the perhaps a more nerdy side of things (nerdy as in computers, I might note).

A special thanks to the author for giving me the opportunity to read through her book before its release and be apart of this book blog tour. It has been a pleasure and an honor.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s